My Students are My Family

Family

My students are my family. I mean think about it. I spend more time with my students than I do my own family. My own children. They spend more time with me than they do their own parents. We are family.

This school year, I wanted the parents of my 60+ students to know that I am invested in their most prized possessions– their children. I want parents to know that I will take care of and protect and love and nurture their children as I would my own children. I think about my students all the time. I think about conversations we’ve had. Conversations we should’ve had. And conversations we will have. I reflect on things that I have said to them. I think about things that they have shared with me, an extension of their own family. I see things daily that make me think, “Oh! I can’t wait to share this with my students!” I am invested in them and I want them to know that deep in their hearts. I want them to know that along with their parents, I am a partner in this so-called journey through life. Your parents and I are connected through you.

We are a family.

That’s why I asked students to bring in a family portrait to share with our school family. This bookshelf is a constant reminder of people who love and care for them. I often catch students stopping by and gazing. Feeling love from a moment caught in time. Feeling love from family. In a way, it makes them feel safe in my classroom. And if students feel safe, they are ready to truly learn.

WeAreFamily

oneluckygal

About Mindi Vandagriff

Proud fire fighter's wife. Energetic mom of two creative boys. Passionate teacher of everything {currently 4th grade}. Schoology Ambassador. Haiku Deck Guru. Closet #edtech geek. View all posts by Mindi Vandagriff

Leave a Reply

